Ajay Narayan Jha joins as Member Finance Commission

Former finance secretary Ajay Narayan Jha joins 15th Finance Commission as member

Ajay Narayan Jha  joined the Fifteenth Finance Commission as its Member. He joins in place of Shaktikanta Das who had resigned as a Member of the Commission after being appointed as Governor, Reserve Bank of India.

Prior to joining the Commission, Jha, a 1982 batch IAS officer of Manipur cadre, was the Finance Secretary to the Government of India. Earlier he had also served as Secretary to the Fourteenth Finance Commission which was headed by former RBI Governor, Y.V. Reddy.

The Fifteenth Finance Commission was constituted by a Presidential Order in November, 2017 under the Chairmanship of N. K. Singh to decide the formula for devolution of revenue between Centre and States, for a period of 5 years April, 2020 to March, 2025.